113 Church Street | P.O. Box 459
Philippi, WV 26416
Phone: (304) 457-2222
Fax: (304) 457-2235
Blue & Gray Committee Finalize Reunion Details
  The Blue and Gray Reunion Committee met again last Wednesday to discuss and finalize plans for the fast approaching reunion next weekend. This year’s reunion promises to be an exciting time for residents and visitors alike with several new events and traditional favorites to be held.
  Entertainment for the weekend is well on the way to being finalized. Acts scheduled to take the stage for performances are Jay McClung, Eric Ariola, Acoustic Mojo, Danny and Jamie Kittle, The Ridgeramblers, Moonshine Creek, Autumn McClung, Redman’s Band, Valli Davis, and more. These talented musicians and singers will perform throughout the weekend in addition to the Talent Show line-up, which is also sure to please.
  The committee is still looking for contestants to enter the new Pie Contest, which will be held on Saturday, May 30, at the Barbour County Courthouse Gazebo with judging beginning at 5 p.m. The contest is for amateur bakers and will feature sweet and savory pies. Registration of the Pie Contest must be received by Friday, May 29, by 5 p.m. Mail registration to Blue & Gray Reunion, PO Box 911, Philippi, WV 26416.
  In other news, the committee motioned to purchase four ten-by-ten tents to use during the reunion in place of a larger tent that would have cost more and required the group to purchase insurance on the tent.
Philippi Man Arrested On Sexual Abuse Charges
  A Philippi man has been arrested on felony sexual abuse charges. James Howard Hawkinberry, Sr., 73, was arrested following the receipt of a complaint from the victim’s mother in reference to a four-year-old victim being sexually abused by her grandfather, the defendant.  
  According to the criminal complaint filed at the Barbour County Magistrate’s Office, Trooper Frank J. Turansky of the West Virginia State Police Philippi Detachment conducted an investigation following the complaint. Following the investigation, Hawkinberry was arrested on felony charges of sexual abuse by a parent, guardian, custodian, or person in a position of trust to a child.
  Hawkinsberry is being held in Tygart Valley Regional Jail on $50,000 bond.
Memorial Day Services At Mount Vernon Cemetery
  The Barbour County American Legion Post No. 44 will hold Memorial Day services on May 25, 11 a.m., at Mount Vernon Memorial Cemetery.
Special guest speaker will be hometown hero, Tom Hawkins (SEAL) retired. Hawkins graduated from Philippi High School in 1960 and Glenville State College in 1966, when he entered the US Navy as an Ensign. He retired after 24 years active service as a career SEAL and Underwater Demolition Team 21 and Seal Team TWO, where he deployed to the Republic of Vietnam as a Platoon Commander. During his service, he received the Bronze Star, Navy Commendation Medal with Combat “V”, and Combat Action Ribbon.
  Hawkins and his wife, Carol, live on the Buckhannon River near Volga. They have three children and six grandchildren. Their son, Matt, is an active-duty SEAL Master Chief Petty Officer. Their son, Zachary, will serve as a Navy Lieutenant until the last of October. Their daughter, Mary, is an elementary school teacher, but currently is a stay-at-home mom.
Barbour County BOE To Meet In Regular Session
  The Barbour County Board of Education will meet in regular session at 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 26, 2015, at the Board of Education Office, 45 School Street, Philippi, WV 26416.
Newspaper Announces Holiday Hours
  The Barbour Democrat Offices will be closed on Friday, May 22, 2015, in observance of Memorial Day. Our offices will be open until 1 p.m. on Monday, May 25, 2015, and will resume normal operating hours on Tuesday, May 26. All news and advertisements will be accepted until 10 a.m. on Tuesday.
Barbour County Celebrates Youth Art Month In Daywood Gallery
  Earlier this month, Barbour County Schools and Alderson Broaddus University celebrated student art from around the county. The university hosted an art show in Daywood Gallery within Burbick Hall to showcase student artwork in celebration of Youth Art Month.
  On May 14, the university hosted an awards ceremony in Wilcox Chapel to recognize all students whose artwork was chosen for display in Daywood Gallery. Students received certificates and merit winners were also honored. Merit winners were chosen from each school and each merit winner’s artwork will also be displayed at the Board of Education Office. Following the awards ceremony, a reception was held in Chesser Lounge across from the gallery.
  The work featured in the show spanned a variety of mediums, from paintings and drawings to clay sculptures and handprint art. Philip Barbour High School students wrote commentaries of their pieces, which described the intent of the artwork or the reason the student created it. Sophomore Leah Seaman’s painting, “I Am Woman,” featured quarter panels of a four different women’s faces, creating one unique face.
  Seaman described her piece by stating that “We are all human beings: blood, bones, brain and all, no matter what we may look like on the outside. This painting was my message that we are all equal, all a part of that same family, and there is nothing ‘inferior’ about any one of us, no matter what we may look like on the outside.”
  No matter the medium, all of the student artworks chosen for the gallery were displayed proudly by Barbour County and celebrated Youth Art Month in wonderful fashion.

Saratoga Farms Food Storage
food storage